Remain

sunny-person-woman-sitting

re·main: 1. Continue to exist, esp. after other similar or related people or things have ceased to exist.  2. Stay in the place that one has been occupying.  3. To continue in the same state or condition.  4. To be a part not destroyed, taken, or used up.  5. To be left over, to continue to exist or stay behind after others have gone.

Lately, my word has been remain.  When I am drawn to prayer or when I think about the season I am in, that is the word that has been brought to the forefront of my mind and heart.  I even visualize the written word- r-e-m-a-i-n.  The fact is that I do not remain in Him and He always and forever will remain in me and for me.  Despite the countless periods of squelching His Spirit, all my defeats, all the skewed perspectives, and all fears, He remains.  Fill in the blank with, literally, anything and He remains.

Remain in me, and I will remain in you.  For a branch cannot produce fruit if it is severed from the vine, and you cannot be fruitful apart from Me.

John 15:4 NLT

He has been, is, and always will be.  When others leave, He remains.  When there is failure, He remains.  When there is peace, He remains.  When there is joy, He remains.  The Glorious and Holy God of the universe… remains with us.

The ESV Study Bible notes that “abide in me” means to continue in a daily, personal relationship with Jesus, characterized by trust, prayer, obedience, and joy.  It also notes that “and I in you” most likely means “safeguard your relationship with Me so that I continue to abide fully in you.”

He remains and wants me to remain.  The transformative power of “remaining” in Him; of walking in the Spirit proves itself over and over and over.  I will forever be in awe and forever be learning about this intimacy.  It is simple- “draw near to God and He will draw near to you” as stated in James 4:8, but the complexities are also mind blowing and utterly beautiful.

4 thoughts on “Remain

  1. I believe it is a deception, a lie, that we do not remain in Him. The deception comes about because we give all our attention to our conscious self for certain periods – we do this ‘automatically’ because that was how things were learned as we grew up and it is a hard habit to break in us fleshy humans. 😉

    We remain in Him as He remains in us… even if we limit our memory of the fact by paying greater attention ‘out there’ than ‘in here’.

    I believe with practice we can learn to remember ALL the time and keep some part of our attention on Him, even while He is trying to show us something through our ‘out there’. We cannot live entirely within while on this earth as we need family and things to feed our body, as well as our spirit. We just don’t have to give what is out there 100% of our mind as most of us do at some time or other. 🙂

    • Thanks for reading and sharing. Yes, you are right! We abide in Him and He is us forever when we accept Him! God is so good to promise us that we do remain in Him and that nothing can separate us from Him!

  2. Pingback: claire necessary | Re•main- Just Stay with Me

Leave a Reply

